Breadsticks made with Fleischmann’s Pizza Crust Yeast

I couldn’t find very many — if any — blogs sharing the results of using Fleischmann’s Pizza Crust Yeast in a recipe.

Here is a photo journal account of my experience making breadsticks using the Pizza Crust Yeast.

The recipe I used came from the Fleischmann’s website:  http://www.pizzacrustyeast.com/Detail.aspx?id=412775e4-6e51-43af-985e-5720a4ee660a

Image

I started by measuring two cups of all-purpose flour into a large mixing bowl.  I scooped the flour into the measuring cup and then leveled it off with the straight edge of a knife.

Then I added the contents of one yeast packet, 1 tbsp sugar, and  1 1/2 tsp salt.  My salt was Himalayan pink salt, because I like to taste the Himalayas.

Image

I heated 1 1/3 c. water in the microwave and then poured in 1/3 c. olive oil on top of the warm water.

Then I added this mixture to the flour mixture and blended it together for a minute with a fork.  Here is what it looked like after one minute.

Image

Then I added in enough flour until the dough formed a ball.

Image

Image

I kneaded the flour for four minutes directly in the mixing bowl, using additional flour as needed to keep the dough from being too sticky.

Here is what is looks like after four minutes of kneading.

Image

Then I drizzled olive oil onto a non-stick baking sheet.

Image

Then I placed the dough on the pan and stretched it out.

Image

Then I brushed olive oil on the dough with a silicone brush.

Image

I then sprinkled on raw minced garlic, dried basil, oregano, and a little parmesan cheese.  This isn’t following the recipe, but it sounded good to me.

Image

I baked the dough at 425 degrees for 22 minutes.  Here is what it looked like when it came out.

Image

I sliced it into sticks.

Image

I served them with some marinara sauce on the side.  My husband said they tasted like old-school Pizza Hut breadsticks.  They weren’t greasy and they baked up crusty enough on the bottom to hold plenty of ingredients should you decide to use this yeast for pizza.

Leave a Reply

